Home / RTE/GFC Award 2014

RTE/GFC Award 2014

Congratulations to the two winners of our Short Film Competition which can now be announced. The winners are:

The Great White Open — Writer & Director : Ciarán Dooley       Producer: Mark Holland

Looks Like Rain — Writer: Ben Conway     Director: Kevin O’Farrell   Producer: Liam Ryan

Thanks to all who came to interview and well done to the other finalists:

An Dubloch — Writer: Daniel Butler

Lost Gold — Writer: Elijah Egan

Lowering Tides — Writer: Gavan McNulty

Button Holes — Writer: Cathy Butler

Heartland — Writer: Niall Byrne

A sincere thank you to everyone else who submitted a script and we’re sorry to disappoint you in this round.

Keep on writing and thanks for your submission.

Previous winners include


The Weather Report Writer / Director: Paul Murphy     Producer: Deirdre de Grae

Maire Ruane in Paul Murphy’s The Weather Report (2013)

Our Unfenced Country Writer / Director: Niamh Heery  Producer: Eric Dolan

Róisín Murphy & Pascal Scott in Niamh Heery’s Our Unfenced Country (2013)


Scratch written and directed by Phillip Kelly and produced by Dave Leahy of Warrior Films.

Sam Keeley in Phillip Kelly’s Scratch (2012)

Nightline written by Ger Fitzgerald, produced by Daniel Dowling & Steven Davenport of Underground Films and directed by Vincent Gallagher. 


Unsaid, Writer/Director Stevie Russell

Conor Delaney in Stevie Russell’s Unsaid (2011)

Atrophy, Writer Matthew Roche, Director Mairtín de Barra

Pat Deery in Mairtín de Barra’s Atrophy (2011)


The Day Trippers, Writer Keith Bogue, Director Pat Comer

Dick Tobin & Barbara Seery in Pat Comer’s The Day Trippers (2010)

Switch, Writers Troels Hundtofte & Thomas Hefferon, Directed by Thomas Hefferon

Lesley Conroy in Thomas Hefferon’s Switch (2010)


The Ottoman Empire, Written & Directed by James Phelan

The Toll, Written & Directed by Medb Johnstone

Passing, Written & Directed by David Freyne

Máire Hastings & Mick Lally in David Freyne’s Passing (2009)


Car Park, Written by Kevin Lavelle & Diarmuid Goggins, Director Diarmuid Goggins

Listen, Writer Keith Bogue, Director Pat Comer

Losing Memories, Written & Directed by Orlagh Heverin

Aoife Heverin in Orlagh Heverin’s Losing Memories (2008)


Up For Air, Written & Directed by Richie Conroy & Mark Hodkinson

Paris Noir, Written & Directed by Alexandra McGuinness

Mr Crocodile In The Cupboard, Writers Jon Bonnell & Morgan Bushe, Director Morgan Bushe

Brixton Bob, Writers Tom Swift & Devin John Doyle, Director Devin John Doyle



Mea Culpa, Written & Directed by Virginia Gilbert

The Wednesdays, Writers Luke Clancy & Conor Ferguson, Directed by Conor Ferguson



No Strings Attached, Written & Directed by Maria O’Loughlin

Slots, Writer Eimhear McMahon; Director Cian McGarrigle


24/7, Written & Directed by Shane Cowley


Plain Jane, Written & Directed by Connie Farrell

The Ten Steps, Written & Directed by Brendan Muldowney


The Funeral Parlour, Written & Directed by David Hegarty


Falling Angels, Written & Directed by Michael Kinirons

Push Hands, Written & Directed by Steph Green

Sales Manager Of The Year, Written & Directed by Declan Hannigan


Old Friends, Written & Directed by John Breen

Call Girl, Written & Directed by Keyster Dyer

The Longest Day, Written & Directed by Dave Hegarty


Memoriam, Written & Directed by Brian O’Corrbui

Neighbourhood Watch, Written & Directed by Éamon Little

Crossing, Written & Directed by Jimmy McAleavey


Butterflies & Bees, Written & Directed by Jenny Roche Conroy

Therapy, Writer Julie Harris

Pressing The Flesh, Written & Directed by Robert Fox


The Hall, Written & Directed by Doreen O’Connor

Diversion, Director Josephine Conlon

Blessed Fruit, Written & Directed by Orla Walsh



Home, Director Collette Cullen

Paper Dolls, Director Tina O’Rourke


Not Victor, Director Tracey Cullen

Molly & Me, Director Darragh Keogh


Quick Fix, Written & Directed by Éamon Little

Old Age, Director William-Godot Silke