Home / News / Award Winners: Galway Film Fleadh 2011

Award Winners: Galway Film Fleadh 2011

Here is the complete list of winners for the 23rd Galway Film Fleadh, 2011:

Best First Animation Short
1. Signs (Vincent Gallagher)
2. The Art of Making Friends (Paul McNulty)

James Horgan Award for Best Animation
1. The Boy who lived in a Bubble (Kealan O’ Rourke)
2. A Gentleman’s Guide to Villainy (Aidan McAteer)
Special Mention: Children in Direct Provision (Sharon Lynch and children resident in Direct Provision Centres)

Tiernan McBride Award for Best Short Drama
Joint First: Asal (Tom Sullivan) & Even Gods (Phil Harrison)

Best First Short Drama
Pentecost (Peter McDonald)

Best Short Documentary Award
1. Needle Exchange (Colm Quinn)
Special Mention: Halls without Walls (Mia Mullarkey)

Donal Gilligan Award for Best Cinematography in a Short Film
Mummy’s Little Helper (Cinematographer: Kate McCullough, Director: Michael Lavelle)

Don Quijote Award for a Short Film
1. The Boy who lived in a Bubble (Kealan O’ Rourke)
Special Mention: Cured (Mary Redmond)

30 Minute Film Festival Judges Award
Lilou (Ruth Meehan)

30 Minute Film Festival Audience Award
Got your Nose (Keith White)

Best Irish Feature
The Guard (John Michael McDonagh)

Best Feature Documentary
1. Bernadette: Notes on a Political Journey (Lelia Doolan)
2. Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell (John C. Walsh)

Best First Feature
Joint Award: Parked (Darragh Byrne) & Charlie Cassanova (Terry McMahon)

Pitching Award Winner
Riognach Ni Ghrioghair for ‘Death Rattle’.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *