Home / Awards / RTÉ & GFC Award 2013

RTÉ & GFC Award 2013

Galway Film Centre, in association with RTÉ, is delighted to announce that we will be granting two awards of €9,500 each, as part of our 2013 Short Film Awards. Applicants are invited to request an application from info@galwayfilmcentre.ie and to submit your short script by noon, Friday, April 12th. The best scripts will be short-listed for interview and two winners will be awarded the prize money as well as the use of equipment and facilities from Galway Film Centre and a commitment from RTÉ to screen the finished film.

Applications should include all of the following elements:

1. Three unbound copies of your script for ease of copying. The script should not identify the writer or production company making the submission (blind copies) so our readers remain impartial when assessing your script. Only one script per writer will be accepted.

2. Please also send a copy of the script as an attachment by email to info@galwayfilmcentre.ie. Again the attachment should have the title of the script on the first page but NOT include the writer’s name anywhere on the script.  The accompanying email should give the applicant’s name, address, telephone number and email address. The subject line of the email should read: SHORT FILM AWARD: Followed by the title of your script. For example SHORT FILM AWARD: THE TEN STEPS.

3. The script should be as close to what you consider a final draft as possible. The winning script-writer will work with the assistance of a professional script editor to finalise and polish the script before shooting. The prize for this award is €9,500.00. €9,000.00 will be awarded towards the production costs and €500 will be used to hire the services of a script editor, (to be selected by Galway Film Centre), to work with the writer.

4. CVs of writer, director & producer (1 copy). A short CV of the writer, the proposed director and producer (maximum one page each) should be included at application stage.  Generally the writers of what are deemed to be the best scripts by our readers are short-listed for interview approximately 8 weeks after the closing date. Writers are then expected to attend the interview with the director and producer to present the proposed core team to deliver the short film.

5. A completed application form (1 copy).

The 2012 winners were: SCRATCH (Liam Ryan and Phillip Kelly) and NIGHTLINE (Ger Fitzgerald).

The 2011 winners were: UNSAID written and directed by Stevie Russell and produced by Michael Donnelly of Tidal BRD Ltd.

The second winner was ATROPHY written by Matthew Roche. It will be directed by Mairtín de Barra and produced by Fearghal Duffy of Zodiac Films.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *